Chris Smith Receives Overwhelming Endorsements from State and Local Officials in 4th District

Includes stunning widespread support from every current Republican New Jersey legislator for the 4th District; and every Monmouth, Ocean elected county commissioner

Toms River –Rep. Chris Smith released the names of dozens of state and local elected officials in Monmouth and Ocean Counties in support of his reelection.

“Congressman Chris Smith understands the needs of our communities and works tirelessly for us in Washington…there is no better partner to advocate for us on a national level,” they agreed.

The group of community leaders includes every elected Republican state legislator representing a portion of the Fourth District, in addition to the entire governing bodies of both Monmouth and Ocean Counties. Supporters include the county sheriffs, clerks, and mayors and council members from across the district.

Among the reasons cited for their support, many of the officeholders noted Smith’s opposition to “defunding the police” and his cosponsorship of legislation to block federal funds from districts that teach critical race theory and give parents access to their child’s curriculum. Others pointed to his leadership in the effort to save Navy Lakehurst and secure national security missions at the Joint Base, his efforts to establish a VA health clinic in Ocean County, and his help in rebuilding and preserving the Jersey Shore in the wake of Superstorm Sandy.

“I am extremely grateful for the continued support of such tremendous leaders and partners at the state, county and local levels,” said Smith. “We have worked together on issues of critical importance to our towns and constituents.  Because of their tenacity, vision and commitment Monmouth and Ocean Counties—the Jersey Shore—remains a great place to live and work.”

The local officials join several other organizations–including the New Jersey State Troopers Fraternal Association, New Jersey Right to Life, the Family Research Council, the Susan B. Anthony List, National Right to Life, former House Speaker Newt Gingrich and the top leaders in the House of Representatives–in supporting Congressman Smith in his June 7 primary election.

The elected officials who have endorsed Smith include:


Senator Chris Connors, 9th District

Senator Jim Holzapfel, 10th District

Senator Declan O’Scanlon, 13th District

Senator Robert Singer, 30th District

Senator Sam Thompson, 12th District



Assemblyman John Catalano, 10th District

Assemblyman Robert Clifton, 12th District

Assemblyman Ron Dancer, 12th District

Assemblywoman Kimberly D. Eulner, 11th District

Assemblywoman Victoria Flynn, 13th District

Assemblywoman DiAnne Gove, 9th District

Assemblyman Sean Kean, 30th District

Assemblyman Greg McGuckin, 10th District

Assemblywoman Marilyn Piperno, 11th District

Assemblyman Brian Rumpf, 9th District

Assemblyman Gerry Scharfenberger, 13th District

Assemblyman Ned Thomson, 30th District



Monmouth County Sheriff Shaun Golden

Ocean County Sheriff Mike Mastronardy

Monmouth County Clerk Christine Hanlon

Ocean County Clerk Scott Colabella



Monmouth County Commissioner Dir. Tom Arnone

Monmouth County Commissioner Lillian Burry

Ocean County Commissioner Bobbi Jo Crea

Monmouth County Commissioner Nick DiRocco

Ocean County Commissioner Ginny Haines

Ocean County Commissioner Dir. Jack Kelly

Monmouth County Commissioner Sue Kiley

Monmouth County Commissioner Ross Licitra

Ocean County Commissioner Gary Quinn

Ocean County Commissioner Joe Vicari



Bay Head Mayor Bill Curtis

Beachwood Mayor Ronald F. Roma Jr

Belmar Mayor Mark Walsifer

Berkeley Mayor Carmen Amato

Brielle Mayor Thomas “Tucker” Nicol

Colts Neck Mayor J.P. Bartolomeo

Farmingdale Mayor Jim Daley

Freehold Township Mayor Maureen Fasano

Howell Former Mayor Joe DiBella

Island Heights Mayor Steven Doyle

Jackson Mayor Mike Reina

Lacey Mayor Mark Dykoff

Lakehurst Mayor Harry Robbins

Lakewood Deputy Mayor Menashe Miller

Lavallette Mayor Walter LaCicero

Manchester Mayor Robert Hudak

Mantoloking Mayor Lawrence White

Middletown Mayor Tony Perry

Plumsted Mayor Robert Bowen

Point Pleasant Beach Mayor Paul Kanitra

Point Pleasant Boro Mayor Bob Sabosik

Seaside Heights Mayor Tony Vaz

Seaside Park Mayor John Peterson

Shrewsbury Boro Mayor Erik Anderson

Spring Lake Heights Mayor Chris Campion

Toms River Mayor Mo Hill

Wall Mayor Kevin Orender



Brick Councilman Perry Albanese

Eatontown Council President Kevin Gonzalez

Freehold Committeeman Anthony Ammiano

Lakewood Committeeman Albert Akerman

Manasquan Council President Brian Holly

Ocean Township Councilman Robert Acerra

Pine Beach Council President Barry Wieck

Sea Girt Councilman Alan Zakin

Spring Lake Councilman David Frost