Consistent with the U.S. Constitution and the New Jersey State Constitution, the New Jersey Redistricting Commission completed the process of redistricting the state’s congressional districts in 2012. New Jersey lost a congressional seat after the results of the 2010 census were published, and so the total seats in the House of Representatives from New Jersey is now 12.

The new map—reflecting the sixth configuration of the Fourth District represented by Congressman Smith—took effect in January 2013. Chris was elected as representative of the new and modified version of the District on November 6th, 2012 with district lines taking effect in January 2013.

For a map and a complete list of towns in the Fourth District as of January 2013, please click here.

More information about the New Jersey Redistricting Commission is available here.